80/20 rule

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by mrees, 6th Apr, 2011.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mrees

mrees New Member

Hi all,

I got some scenarios on my head that is begging for answers, hope you guys can help.

If I have a partnership with my wife and we are both I.T. contractors and we have only one client each for the entire financial year, are we in violation of the rule?

What if I am a sole trader and I employ my wife and she consults to client A while I work on client B?

What if I am a sole trader with only one client for the year but have an existing rental property? Does that mean that I don't ever need to worry about having a long term contract since I have another source of income? Even if the rental property is technically not yet generating an income?

Thanks,
    mrees

2. wdongli

wdongli Well-Known Member

All are dependent on more conditions than you have listed for a trustful and confident idea whether or not you could survive and thrive. For example, to your scenario 1:

"If I have a partnership with my wife and we are both I.T. contractors and we have only one client each for the entire financial year, are we in violation of the rule?"

How much could you get from the clients? What's your understanding or rule 20/80? A client pays $1,000,000 or $100 could mean completely different financial matter to you and your wife. I guess the payment is between. Do you mean you get 80% of income and your wife get another 20%? It is my understanding that 20/80 rule is about the statistical calculation of the rate for what we want or what we don't want and usually the 20% of things in our life would set the course for us. It could mislead us to use this rule in a special case. How about both of you make 50% but quite good payment?