Join our investing community

Access to site times out behind a corporate firewall

Discussion in 'Help & Feedback' started by jms, 5th Jan, 2008.

  1. jms

    jms Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jan, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Seven Hills NSW
    Hi,

    I was trying to access this set from the office behind a corporate firewall ( of course ) which I believe is running squid. My browser connection basically times out for whatever reason. I could access any other site (smh.com.au, google.com.au, news.com.au, etc... )

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    mmm - difficult to tell what the problem might be.

    Next time you try, have a look at ZooBeat Forums :: Zoo News and Discussion (it's on the same server and running the same software) ... if you have no problems accessing that site then it's something about the way I've built this site that is causing the problem. If you do have problems - then it's something about the way your proxy is set up that is causing problems accessing our host.
     
  3. voigtstr

    voigtstr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    24th Jan, 2007
    Posts:
    679
    Location:
    Hobart
    works fine from within LogicaCMG. (and they block youtube.. the bastards)
    check with your system administrator :)
     
  4. Glebe

    Glebe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    932
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Squid is a proxy server not a firewall.
     
  5. jms

    jms Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jan, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Seven Hills NSW
    Sorry .. yes. Got the two confused.

    It looks like the problem was only temporary on Friday, as I am accessing this site now without problems.

    Ta