Join our investing community

An artist's quest for financial independence

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by investfreq, 13th Nov, 2007.

1. investfreq

investfreq Member

Hello, I'm so glad I found this forum! Looks like there are many clever and helpful people here. I just wish I'd found it sooner.

Here's my situation: I'm an artist, about to turn 35. I've lived the starving artist lifestyle and am over it. Fortunately a few years ago I got a permanent part time academic position, which pays about $40k p.a., and this year I've finally managed to pay off all of my debts (except HECS) and started saving money for the first time.

While I'm very lucky to have the day job, it does distract me from my calling of making art. The art is unlikely to ever be lucrative, so I've been thinking of a solution. I call it 'Freedom 45'. :)

I'd like to be financially independent by 45. To me that would mean owning a modest property and having an income from investments of over $20k pa and rising steadily. That way I could cut back on the teaching, make the art that I want and any income from it would be a bonus, and I could still eventually retire comfortably.

Am I dreaming? A year ago I didn't know anything about investing, but I did a lot of research, made some spreadsheets and came up with some ideas. I'm still a complete beginner though, so am keen to get your feedback.

I'm currently saving at a rate of over $500 per fortnight and expect that to continue for the foreseeable future. I've opened a CFS First Choice account with a margin loan and am putting most of the savings into it (the rest into an iSaver). The balance is currently approx $20k (incl $10k margin loan).