Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tropo

Tropo Well-Known Member

wdongli is not welcome to read, comment nor reply!

Wall Street relies on “stock analysts.”
    These are people who do research on companies and then, no matter what they find, even if the company has burned to the ground, enthusiastically recommend that investors buy the stock.
    They are just a bunch of cockeyed optimists, those stock analysts.
    When the Titanic was in its death throes, with the propellers sticking straight up into the air, there was a stock analyst clinging to the railing asking people around him where he could buy a ticket for the return trip.

Dave Barry
    February 3, 2002

When I was a broker many many moons ago a large number of things used to fascinate me about the industry.
    Everything from how come the guy sitting next to me was selling shoes last week and who thinks a trend is the move from sandals to sneakers.
    To why do analysts get paid so much when they used to suffer from what we used to refer to at uni as the elbow–posterior error chain. (translation couldn’t tell their arses from their elbows)

Interestingly enough I was not the only person fascinated by the behaviour of analysts and fortunately for everyone else the task of looking at analyst’s behaviour has became a topic of study for people smarter than me.

The most intriguing part of analyst behaviour has been their consistent bias toward the long side of trading.
    Traditionally analysts have ranked their recommendations along the lines of strong buy, buy, hold, sell or strong sell.
    Occasionally in the mix you would get the recommendation switch, this was a favourite among brokers because it meant that you could pick up two lots of commission for reading a single piece of the script provided by the analyst.