Join our investing community

Another from Sydney

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DaveA, 21st Feb, 2007.

1. DaveA

DaveA Well-Known Member

Hey Guys,

Well im nice and new, ive been doing alot of research over different forums in the past few weeks to get my head around the Hybrid trusts and the best way to set a structure before i actually start investing.

Im actual a final year accounting student and ive got a Job at one of the Big 4 accounting firms lined up but unfortunally we dont learn any of this in our degree, so its no surprise i hear people saying i go to my accountant and he has no idea..

By i have 6 months till i graduate and i really want to learn as much as i can in those 6 months as from July ill be doing the active investing.

Currently i have a Small stocks portfolio of about $35,000 which is geared on the high side of high (about 90%) thanks to margin lending and a loan. These are held in my own name but being an accountant i see getting asset protection a fairly high priorty so the majority of my questions will be about trusts for now...

Thanks in advance for the help. Cheers

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

Welcome DaveA - hope you do well with your new job when you graduate.

3. Glebe

Glebe Well-Known Member

Congratulations! - however -

Don't stay there for too long. They will make you work massive hours for your $40k per year and sell you to clients for big dollars as an expert.

I don't have personal experience here but have family members in that boat. After 2 years they quit and double their money elsewhere.

4. DaveA

DaveA Well-Known Member

Yep, totally aware of that...