ATO Targets Disc Trusts - Capital Gains may be taxed at 46.5%

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Nodrog, 20th May, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Nodrog

Nodrog Well-Known Member

Hi Gang,

I just posted the following on Somersoft but thought some here might also be interested:

I see in Monday's Aust Financial Review that the ATO's evolving view on age old complex trust law is that Capital Gains should not be able to be distributed to a benificiary. That is, the Trustee should be taxed at 46.5% in line with the trust rules on undistributed amounts - rather than the benificiary being eligible for the 50% CGT discount. The ATO is awaiting the decision by the Full Federal Court in relation to the Bamford test case which they have funded. The decision is expected in the next couple of months.

I'm no expert on trusts but the arguements put forward by the ATO seem to have some substance.

Perhaps some of the forum members who have more expertise on trusts may wish to comment.

Cheers - Gordon

2. ashes

ashes Well-Known Member

Hi Gordon,

Do you have a link (maybe the ATO) where we could read up on this case a bit more?
    It sounds very interesting. Maybe we will have to start investing with companies instead of trusts.

Cheers,
    Ash.

3. Rob G

Rob G Well-Known Member

I haven't been following this too closely, but I hope 'Kevin 07' pays attention to his sliding popularity before this goes much further. The Treasury has very little credibility either, since it threw its lot in with him.

The ATO has had success in attacking details of trust deeds in the past regarding validity of trust distributions.

The Commissioner has now made a more fundamental attack on current legal practice.