Averaging 2% income monthly - too good to be true

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Alwayslooking, 6th Dec, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alwayslooking

Alwayslooking Well-Known Member

Hi All
    I am currently looking at various funds/options to generate income.

This group below have a product (income fund) using options where they are supposedly averaging 2%+ generated monthly.

They trade in blue chip, mainly resource, Cost - 1% per trade. No entry/exit fees, minimum of $50K.

I am new to shares/funds but this sounds too good to be true. Does anyone know anything about this style of investing or this group.

Welcome to Tricom

Cheers and thanks for your help

PS
    Realise there is another post re: Tricom, but limited information.

2. crc_error

crc_error The Rule of 72

3. Alwayslooking

Hi crc_error
    Thanks for your reply..... but I must be missing something, if Tricom is achieving income of 24% pa and client still maintaining capital I would have thought that was pretty special.

Cheers

4. crc_error

crc_error The Rule of 72

covered calls can generate anywhere from 1-5% monthly premium.. the risk is the stock falling in value, so ideally it works well in a slightly up trending stock or sideways trending stock. With a covered call you also forfeit capitals gains the stock may have.

I have a portion of my portfolio dedicated to covered calls, and its been working well for me.

5. Alwayslooking

Hi crc_error
    that's interesting, do you do this yourself or use a broker and if so do you mind sharing. I would like to pursue this strategy but as I am new to this game would need some guidance.

Thanks for reply,
    Cheers, AL

6. crc_error

crc_error The Rule of 72

I use a discount broker.. comsec and do it myself via their protrader software.

The asx website has a intro to covered calls which I recommend to read so you get the gist of how it works.