Best account to put savings into? (online??)

Discussion in 'Money Management & Banking' started by sestrooper, 26th Oct, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sestrooper

sestrooper New Member

Hey guys, so im 19 and well i am EXTREMELY interested in investing now. I basically look at investments everyday whether it be property, stocks or currency (forgive my shallow depth). Anyway, as i am studying at the moment, i dont have heaps of income so i want to put everything i earn and have into a high interest account so that it can grow. I dont earn heaps (heck only $200 a week) but i will be putting it all into savings. In addition, i will be workign all holidays and chucking it into my savings.

So i need the best type of account that is great for interest? I am a student if that helps (fee's?). What are the best options? I hear there are online banks?? (such as virjin money saver at 6.75%). What would you say is the best one to grab? I only have 1k to start..

I tried searching aswell so sorry if i made a mistake and posted this!!

Whats the advantage/disadvantage of online vs offline banks?

2. Johny_come_lately

Johny_come_lately Well-Known Member

Hi sestrooper

There are also Cash Management Funds and Term Deposits. CMF take about three days for withdrawals and TDs have an early withdrawal fee, if you need your cash.

Johny. :)

3. sestrooper

sestrooper New Member

Thanks John

I am trying to get some info on CMF and TD. Google gives me a little about TD and from what i understand, term deposits are basically like a savings account but instead you are locked into a time frame and not able to withdraw (or get penalised). The positive is that its generally a high % interest (6.5-7%). Do you know if this 7% is locked aswell?

In regards to CMF, i cant find a heck of a lot and i would love to understand how it works. Do you know of a good thread that explains it or can you give a good link?

Thanks mate!