Managed Funds Best Oz wholesale funds?

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by sharejunky, 8th Nov, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sharejunky

sharejunky Well-Known Member

I'm currently looking at Colonial First State's FirstChoice Wholesale Australian Share Fund - anyone have an opinion, maybe know a superior fund please?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

What is your purpose for investing ? What is your investment timeframe ?

Will you be gearing ? Have you considered an internally geared fund ?

3. sharejunky

I didn't even know there were geared funds :)
    No, I play internet poker for a living and currently have about 600k in
    various funds, Platinum Asia and Japan, AXA Wholesale Global Equity Value Fund, Advance Asia Fund and Hunter Hall Value Growth Trust. I've got a few hundred k's more in cash looking for a new home, and the Oz market
    is starting to look increasingly attractive. Timeframe is long term :)

4. Simon Hampel

If you aren't gearing externally (eg margin loan), and would like exposure to ASX200 stocks and are looking for long term growth, and can deal with short term volatility, then consider the CFS W/S Geared Share fund. It is relatively expensive, and is quite volatile - but long term performance is higher than just about everything else due to the gearing.

Difficult to accurately compare it to non-geared funds ... but if you want high performance and don't want to be bothered managing your own gearing levels, then this fund is a good way to outsource that process.

5. sharejunky

Thanks very much Sim! I'll check that one out...

6. crc_error

crc_error The Rule of 72

I would probably advise against gearing. Gearing can wipe you out in the case of a market correction/crash. ie a 50% fall in shares, = a 100% loss when geared at 50%

Select some quality australian share funds, and invest into them.