Book recommendations?

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by Mark88, 10th Feb, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Hey,
    I am a TOTAL newbie to investing. I am currently saving to buy my first IP in 2-3 years time. I was wondering if anyone could give me some book recommendations to learn about property investment?
    Books would need to be aimed at a beginner stage ..possibly some intermediate books too that I can read later on.
    I thought it would be wise to educate myself over the next few years before jumping into the market - I want to educate myself on things like leverage, margin lending, money management etc etc ..just something to get me started and prepared!!
    Thank you in advance
    Mark

2. GregReid

GregReid Well-Known Member

Mark,
    I personally like the Jan Somers series as a start to your property investing.
    Stuart Wemyss is another from more a finance perspective. There is a book, Secrets of Property Millionaires Exposed that is a mix of ideas from successful PI's.
    Margaret Lomax, Chan and Melvin, then there are authors like Steve McKnight etc.
    It is finding those that make common sense and do not try to go from 1 to 130 property in 2 years.
    Greg

3. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Thank you for your recommendations Greg. I will definately look into and purchase some of those books to get myself started.
    What do you think of Michael Yardney's books - such as, How to Grow a Multi-million Dollar Property Portfolio in Your Spare Time ..I found some of his books through the the propertyupdate website and he seems pretty good!

4. GregReid

GregReid Well-Known Member

Michael Yardney is an interesting speaker and I have attended some of his seminars and read his books. He is another author with a view and worth reading. I would not start on his but certainly include a little later
    Greg

5. propertybuyingguide