ETF Borrow to buy etfs?

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by GG, 26th Jun, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. GG

GG Active Member

Hi all

I'm a bit of a newbie and pretty naive when it comes to investments - up till now I've just concentrated on working and earning as much as possible, and putting as much as possible into superannuation.

About 6 months ago it seemed like I would be retrenched, and because I'm nearing retirement age I started thinking more about investments.

It now looks like I won't be retrenched, at least for a few years. Recently we bought an investment property, 500K and borrowing 390K. We also have our own house, probably 800K.

I have a lot in super. It's about 800K at the moment, and top of that I would get 40K index-linked pension if I retired now.

Given that, I was thinking that I should borrow money to invest in shares - never considered this before, so I was interested in your opinion.

Provided that I can afford interest payments for 10-20 years then would it eventually pay off borrowing 300K and investing in etfs? (Or how much would it be reasonable to borrow to invest??)

Obviously you cannot give financial advice, but you can say what you would do if you were in my position.

Or do you think I'm being greedy and should be happy with what I've already accumulated?

Any opinions at all would be really good

Many thanks!

2. GunnerGuy

GunnerGuy Index & Property Investor

GG,

You say that you are a newbie, however at the same time I do not mean to talk down to you. Here is my 2 cents worth.