Borrowing to Invest

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Gary78, 17th May, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Gary78

Gary78 New Member

Hey everybody... new member here :)

I'm looking at borrowing $200k to invest. After a work coleague went to a Peter Spann seminar last week, he's told me about the GIEF and Fusion funds they have with Macquarie where you can borrow 100% of the investment. Im considering investing $100k into the GIEF and $100k in to the Fusion with ability to offset the interest from the Fusion with the income from the GIEF.

Does anybody have any experience with this set up? It's pitfalls and risks? I'm new to the Share Market and have read through the prospectus on the Macquarie site however a lot of it is a bit difficult to fully understand.

Any advice or suggestions?

2. Simon

Simon Well-Known Member

I invest by a simple maxim. It isn't mine but is attributed to Warren Buffett who is somewhat more successful than me to date.

"Never invest in something you don't understand."

So you have two choices if you believe WB knows a bit. Work on understanding it or find something simpler. :)

I was also at that event. I understood the Fusion fund to be an umbrella covering a choice of several managed funds most of which seemed quite attractive with a good track record.

I also understood the 100% loan that was offered.

Not so keen on the GEIF. I am already in the Navra fund which pays quarterly and has a similar cashflow target which is supposed to work in market conditions other than just straight up.

If I was selecting the 100% loan and the Fusion Fund I think I would personally use my Navra fund rather than the GEIF. No slur on the GEIF rather a reflection on my inability to make sense of it.