Bullish Sydney Market 08-09

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Jacque, 22nd Dec, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

According to Westpac's chief economist guru, Bill Evans, he expects the Sydney housing market to pick up very soon, with house prices rising 15% over the next 2 years.

In his speech to REINSW members at the Target On Property seminar Evans said that he believed that the strength of the current Australian economy would help to inoculate the local property market, and coupled with a lack of supply and rising rents, prices will pick up more strongly over the next couple of years.

2. Glebe

Glebe Well-Known Member

In the face of increasing interest rates.. hmm I'm sceptical, but won't say no. That would push my property value to $1m. I like the sound of that.

3. tony__

tony__ Well-Known Member

As an Economist myself, I can say that the Banks economists (Evans, Caton, etc) are idiots.

The consensus of Treasury and private research firms is that there will be at least two interest rates rises in early 2008. That is hardly supportive of a 15% increase in house prices.

Tony

4. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Tony,

Surely anyone speaking to a specific group is going to be telling them good news? Your not going to tell them that they got it wrong are you? He might get kicked out...

I agree with you, 15% is a bit optimistic with interest rates increases looming in early '08...

Cheers,

Dan

5. Nigel Ward

Nigel Ward Well-Known Member

Hi Tony

That's a pretty big call. Perhaps their guesses are just a bit more informed than ours. Does that mean they're more accurate - sometimes ;) but sometimes too much info is a problem too.

About 2 years ago Bill Evans I was there when he told a room full of private equity players the AUD would get to US$0.90 within 2 years. So he got something right at least!

Cheers
    N.

6. tony__