Managed Funds Buying Managed Funds

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Meggsy, 16th Aug, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Meggsy

Meggsy Well-Known Member

How does everyone choose their managed funds? Do you have a checklist of things to look for before purchasing units? Perhaps it is performance since inception or looking at the fund manager’s history.

I’m looking to help a friend purchase some managed funds, I have a couple myself, however, I picked them by just looking at the sector/asset class and 5-7 year returns. I’m not going to tell my friend what to by as I’m only a novice myself, but I’d like to be able to give them some advice on what to look for in a fund.

I did a search and have seen that a few of you don't pay too much attention to the Morningstar ratings but I’m sure you still have an extensive criteria for selecting a fund, if you were willing to share I’d be most grateful.

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

First step is to have a clear goal for what you want in a fund ... is it for growth or for income (or a balance of the two) ? If income, is distributed (real) income important, or are realised capital gains acceptable (or preferable) ? Do you want imputation credits ?

What markets do you want exposure to ? Australian shares ? Australia blue chip shares ? Australia small companies ? Resources ? Listed property ? Health and Biotech ? IT&T ? Bonds ? Cash ? International shares ? European shares ? Asian shares ? Chinese shares ? BRIC shares ? International listed property ? etc ?

Do you want hedged investments ? Do you want active trading ? Do you want buy-and-hold ? Do you want index-hugging ?

What is your tolerance for risk ? Would you consider internally geared funds ? Do you want consistent performance or extreme performance ?

... it's basically like a pizza menu - you have to choose what you want on your pizza, and THEN you get to choose where to buy it from :D