Buying my First IP

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by duduk, 25th Jun, 2014.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. duduk

duduk New Member

Hi Guys;

I have Just registered to this forum, i have actually just found it via google, not only that, but i am actually very new to this world of investment... :)

i am thinking of buying my first IP, i have never bought any properties before in Australia, been reading online about it, but i found lots of terms and techniques that kept me even more confused.

and finally i decided to buy an investment property, which would be positively geared, or at least with a rental that would cover the loan repayments and the regular fees (council, strata,water,...etc) AND with a good a chance of capital growth in the next 5-10 years.

Now i have lots of questions that i am still looking for an answer to :

1- is that model even possible ?
    2- should I get a house in western suburbs or 2 beds aptmnt somewhere close to the CBD (500K-550K) ?
    3- what if i get an older house in Western Sydney for a lower value, renovate and then put it for rent , would that achieve my goals ?
    4- would a house in western sydney be easy to rent ? [any website i can get stats or information about the renatl percentage for certain suburbs]
    5- is there any specific suburbs to consider , which could be promising in the next few years ?
    6- considering the loans, if i have enough cash to pay around 50% of the unit price, should i do that and minimise the repayments, or pay only 20% (or less with LMI) ?
    7- my understanding is that, for negatively geared properties, only the portion of the repayment which represents the interest , is deducted for tax purposes, is that correct? Usually, or roughly (for estimation sake), what percent that would be from a monthly repayment ?