Managed Funds Can you help me get started

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Mon__, 15th Jul, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mon__

Mon__ New Member

Excuse this completely basic question but I'm pretty clueless (hopefully for not too much longer) when it comes to share investing but I like to learn by doing so here goes.....

I would like to invest in the Navra Blue Chip Australian Share retail fund to offset costs of -ve property portfolio. I don't have a financial advisor so am not sure how to go about this. I would also like to a leverage into this fund using a margin loan of say 50%.

Whats my first step? As I'm new to this should I use a financial advisor or can a mortgage broker help or is it simple enough to do directly thru Navrainvest? :confused:

Thanks

Mon

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Mortgage brokers don't typically do margin loans - and in my opinion, there's no need ... there aren't that many margin lending products to choose from, and to a degree you are limited by which funds you want to invest in anyway.

Have a look at the choice of margin loans here: INFOCHOICE | Investment | Margin Lending

The LVR lookup tool is useful for telling you what lenders will offer on various shares and funds (but note that it is not always up to date - so worth having a look at some of the individual lender websites to check their current offerings). It's pretty straight forward to refinance at a later date if you need to - so don't get too stressed about getting things perfect up front (naturally if you fix interest rates, things become a bit more complicated and potentially expensive to refinance).