Company and Trusts - What structure?

Discussion in 'Business Accounting, Tax & Legal' started by DJS__, 9th Sep, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. DJS__

DJS__ New Member

Hi All
    I am new to businesses and new to the forum, so please bear with me.

I have also done a lot of reading and I cant quite get the concepts of which structure to choose sorted out in my head. My intention is to consult a professional but I wanted to seek the forums advice first, to get a better understanding.

Effectively myself and 2 other (un-related) partners all want to invest in commercial property and run a business where by we are effectively landlords collecting rent.

After all I have read it appears that a combination of Company, and either a discretionary trust or Unit trust would be the best option. But its not clear if we should be doing a Unit trust, with the company as trustee (who buys the property? Company or Trust?). Or the company owning the property and dispursing income to a discretionary trust.

A list of our objectives in order of priority is below.

1) Limit the ability of creditors to come after personal assets.
    2) Be able to re-invest profits into the business with minimal tax implications
    3 ) Ability to disperse profit equally between the 3 partners
    4)Ability to disperse to nominated family members if we choose to.
    5) Negative gearing of property
    6) Ability to get finance ( which some trusts have issues with)
    7) Minimise CGT on sale of property. (Which companies cant do)
    8) Ease of operation eg: the structure isnt so complicated that it makes operating diffcult
    9) Minimise setup costs

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

2. DJS__

DJS__ New Member

Can anyone add anything?

3. Superman__

Superman__ Well-Known Member

I would utilise a unit trust with a corporate trustee.