Company investing through Trust

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by ecosse, 30th Mar, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ecosse

ecosse Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie, so hopefully I've got this question in the right place :)

I've been considering a new investment transaction, and wondered if anyone could advise if I'm missing any issues. I'll try to give as much background as possible ...

Background ...
    I have operated a trust structure (with inactive corporate trustee) for a number of years to protect family assets. Until now, all assets in the trust have been contributed from personal wealth, with some personal borrowings to provide a conservative level of leveraging. The trust is cash positive and distibutes all income to the family beneficiaries. The interest on borrowings is significantly less than the cash distributed by the trust.

My wife and I are also sole shareholders of a trading company which has built up a significant amount of cash in recent years. We are reluctant to take the cash out, even as dividends, due to the tax implications.

The Plan ...
    What we are considering is to have the trading company contribute its spare cash to the trust (buy units), the trust will borrow additional funds and use the total amount to purchase an investment property. The property will be a trust asset owned by the corporate trustee atf the trust.

The property will be licensed to the trading company who will manage the investment, cover all outgoings, and receive all income. The licence fee will be equal to the amount of interest due on the loan -> net result to the trust is zero.

In addition to the licence fee, the trading company will contribute capital to the trust which will be used to increase its unit holding, and thereby reduce the balance of the loan.