Join our investing community

Education papers

Discussion in 'Help & Feedback' started by Andrew, 16th Aug, 2005.

  1. Andrew

    Andrew Active Member

    Joined:
    16th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Moonee Ponds
    Is it my membership level or some technical problem which is preventing
    me from viewing the education section?

    I only see about one fifth of the macromedia flash paper area. It scrolls
    vertically but since I can view the leftmost fifth of the page this isn't much
    use.

    I am using Firefox 1.0.6 with Shockwave Flash 7.0 r25 on Linux.

    andy
     
  2. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Which fifth of the page can you see ?

    Perhaps you need to zoom out a bit ? The controls at the top of the page allow you to zoom in and out, and there are also buttons to zoom out to full screen, or to page-width.

    See attached graphic for details.

    Is it possible for you to email me a screenshot of what you see when you load one of those pages ? Send it to webmaster@
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Andrew

    Andrew Active Member

    Joined:
    16th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Moonee Ponds
    Emailed image
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Jayar

    Jayar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    130
    Hi, Andrew,

    Have just seen another Linux machine running the same programs, and the same problem exists.

    A 'workaround' is (I am told) to go to the 'Tools' menu, Page Info, click on Media tab, scroll towards the bottom of the page 'til you see a 'blank' line. The URL immediately below is the page you are trying to load......open this URL in a new tab, and this time the page will be legible.

    Not the ideal outcome, but a quick-fix in the interim.

    Jayar
     
  5. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks Jayar - that was going to be my next question/task - find someone else running linux/firefox and see if it doesn't work for them either. That's a pain.

    Looks like a Flash in Firefox on Linux problem - which is a combination I hadn't tested.

    I'll see whether I can make the workaround easier to manage until a fix is found.
     
  6. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Maybe we can make a story out of this ?

    (with apologies to Dr Seuss)

    Firefox, Flash, Linux, box
    Firefox on Linux with Flash in box
    Flash in Firefox on Linux not groks,
    and clocks go tocks while Sim' chops blocks

    no ? I was just about to launch into something about beatles with paddles in a bottle on a poodle eating noodles ... but I think I'll stop there!
     
  7. Andrew

    Andrew Active Member

    Joined:
    16th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Moonee Ponds
    Sim what have you been smoking?

    andy
     
  8. Jacque

    Jacque Team InvestEd

    Joined:
    16th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    1,885
    Location:
    Sydney
    one fish two fish red fish blue fish
    obviously :)