ETF ETF portfolio

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by jomond, 24th Feb, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jomond

jomond Member

I'm pretty new to the whole portfolio management thing. I've invested in Vanguard in the past, but I believe I could do better using ETFs. I've come up with a buy-and-hold portfolio that I intend to keep for more than 15 or so years. It's based on the available ETFs on the ASX, with the aim of being as diversified as possible:

SPDR S&P/ASX 200 index ETF - 50%
    iShares MSCI EAFE Index ETF - 20%
    iShares S&P SmallCap 600 ETF - 20%
    iShares MSCI Emerging Markets Index ETF - 10%

The weighted MER on this portfolio, which is 0.325% beats Vanguard's equivilent high growth index fund by 0.575%. I just want to get some feedback on the asset allocation. Is this a stronly diverified portfolio? Any comments would be good =).

2. Glebe

Glebe Well-Known Member

Would be interesting to see how AUD/USD fluctuations affect the value of your portfolio.

3. Rod_WA

Rod_WA Well-Known Member

I reckon it's a great looking mix.

But why choose the MSCI EAFA fund? As far as I know, it invests globally ex USA, so you don't get any USA stock exposure. Is this a decision based on current US recession fears? But you said that you'll buy'n'hold for 15 years, so why not buy the US market while it's gloomy and reap the benefits of recovery?

4. The Stig

The Stig Well-Known Member

Apart from STW I don't know the other ETF symbols. Can you share them please?

You don't have any property ETFs there. Why not?

I can only see the Emerging markets out performing the rest of the world for the next few years. I would have more than 10% devoted to emerging markets myself.

Cheers
    The Stig

5. jomond

jomond Member