Feedback/Reccomendations for me starting out my investments.

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Sk3tChY, 4th Aug, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sk3tChY

Sk3tChY Well-Known Member

Hello pplz,

Im relatively new the whole investing game and came across this site while I was searching for some stuff on google. I've only started making my first investments in June this year, so I was hoping to get some feedback / advice from some more experienced investors, who might be able to point me in the right direction.

Im basically starting from scratch here, so you could say im a bit of a noob. I've chosen to start off in shares. I set up a Commsec + CDIA account and have bought some shares.

I decided to start off with some low risk, long-term blue-chips, just to get a nice foundation for my portfolio, so I put basically all the money I had into CBA and SGB, which was only about 10k, so 5k in each. And just recently I put 3k into BQT, which amazingly hasn't gone up after all the announcements.

My plan was to get a margin loan, and to put some more money into CBA and SGB. They seem to be good regular growing securities, and should hopefully go up about 15% pa + dividends. Now I know that one rule with shares is that you shouldn't go off previous performance, but I think its safe to with steady companies like banks.

Do you guys think this would be a good plan? Any feedback / reccomendations would be great.

Thx guys. :)

Last edited by a moderator: 4th Aug, 2007
  2. voigtstr

voigtstr Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forums. I dont have experience with direct shares as yet, but plenty of others on the forums do, and should be able to provide plenty of hints and tips.

Cheers
    Simon

3. Rod_WA

Rod_WA Well-Known Member

Welcome and good on you for starting your investment life.