Financial planner needing some advice!

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by Bebe__, 5th Jul, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Bebe__

Bebe__ New Member

Hello everyone,

I am currently a financial planner working for a bank and am considering starting my own FP practice.

I am currently talking to a few licencee's with the major one being MLC and i am thinking of buying a client register for a multiple of 3 times the reoccurring revenue.

I have about 6 years experience in the industry and am 27 years old and i need advice/help on what other people think about the do's and dont's of buying into a client register (whether it be MLC or AMP).....any help/discussion would be great!

Thanks

2. Superman__

Superman__ Well-Known Member

I may be able to help.

I have observed the purchase and integration of a significantly sized financial planning 'book' over the last few years.

You really need to be careful and do your due diligence. There are so many potential issues and pitfalls.

Some tips:

- Have an agreement where you only pay for the clients you retain when you purchase them - i.e. pay 50% upfront, 30% after 1 year and 20% after two years. This way if all the clients desert when they find out a new planner is taking over you don't have to pay for them - stretch it out as long as you can.

- Why is the person selling the book? Are they retirement or are they getting out before the going gets rough? What are they going to do after they sell? Ensure there is a restraint on trade that ensures they can't re-start their practice down the road and steal their old clients back or even market to them in another business they operate.

- Is the book you are buying made up of other previously bought books that are just sitting there earning trail commission and have never been reviewed?