Join our investing community

Financial planner needing some advice!

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Bebe, 5th Jul, 2010.

1. Bebe

Bebe New Member

Hello everyone,

I am currently a financial planner working for a bank and am considering starting my own FP practice.

I am currently talking to a few licencee's with the major one being MLC and i am thinking of buying a client register for a multiple of 3 times the reoccurring revenue.

I have about 6 years experience in the industry and am 27 years old and i need advice/help on what other people think about the do's and dont's of buying into a client register (whether it be MLC or AMP).....any help/discussion would be great!

Thanks

2. CJ. Wentworth

CJ. Wentworth Well-Known Member

you may need to re-read the OP. They ARE an FP, don't need FP advice

3. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Bebe,

With the changes coming in from 1st July 2012. What do you think the multiples of buying a business will be after then?

Cheers,

Dan

4. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

Is a multiple of 3x normal for this industry?

What is the breakdown of that revenue? How much is from commissions and how much from fee-for-service?

5. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Sim,

Commissions, from a combination of insurance and investments.
    Fee for service is hard to become recurring when there is no goodwill.

This may indicate a reduction of multiples, eg, accounting practices usually sell for around 1x multiples as these practices are essentially doing tax returns which are paid for once the work is complete (fee for service).

Cheers,

Dan

6. Dolfinwise

Dolfinwise Well-Known Member

Client quality

Its all about the quality of the base. 3X is fine even with legislative uncertainty if the client base is engaged, knows what fees they are paying and believe they are getting value for money.