Financial setup.

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by shouldisell, 27th May, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. shouldisell

shouldisell Well-Known Member

Yes, it's me again, making yet another thread.

This time I'm curious as to how I should establish myself financially.

I work as a personal trainer / martial arts instructor. So there is a higher than usual possibility that I may at some stage get into some legal conflicts. I hope this never happens ofcourse, but I would like to be protected never the less.

I would also like to own my own business one day, which may or may not be relevant.

I was wondering if there was a way I could protect myself and my assets should I ever run into legal trouble.

Should I register a company do all my investing/business under? (I would like to own some investment properties at some time, and heard that how you structure yourself is quite important)
    Can a company be used to buy property, shares, stocks, managed funds etc...?
    Will this provide any extra security?

I would like to structure myself correctly from the beginning so I can avoid any trouble down the track.

Thanks once again.

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Investing via a company is generally a bad idea - you lose a lot of investing benefits if you do.

A Discretionary Trust is the one of the best vehicles for asset protection, and it gives you flexibility with streaming income and capital gains to any of your defined beneficiaries - making tax planning a bit easier.

There are other options - but some form of trust is probably what you need ... so some searching ... there have been plenty of posts about them.

3. shouldisell

Thanks Sim.

The more I read into all this, the more confused I become.

4. MattR

MattR Well-Known Member

Compleks