Finding a good accountant (in Melbourne)

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by shouldisell, 1st Aug, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. shouldisell

shouldisell Well-Known Member

Hey guys.

I think I'm on the verge of possibly landing myself in a bit of trouble, if I don't take action soon.
    I'm self employed and haven't paid any taxes, ever (I have an ABN). I've only been eligible to pay taxes on the last financial year, but if I keep putting things off I imagine I could end up in alot of strife.

I'm a personal trainer and martial arts instructor. I receive a portion of my pay in cash (for privates) and the rest deposited into my bank account (for classes). I have a few investments (managed funds) which haven't returned any profits as of yet.
    I've also just started working a 'real' job. It's only 2 days a week, but I assume that this pay will be taxed etc... like any normal job.

So I assume my tax will be a little harder to organise than most people and will probably involve quarterly BAS statements from what I've been told.

Anyway. I want to do everything by the book so I don't land myself in trouble. So I need to find a good accountant located in Melbourne (I live in the southern suburbs). Problem is I don't know where to start :confused:
    I'm sure I could walk into any tax office and get things done reasonably... but I would really like someone who is proficient with small business and investing.

Any tips? Recommendations? Advice?
    Am I going to be in any trouble?

2. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

Hi Compleks

It doesn't sound too bad- I've heard worse cases with one friend not submitting any tax returns for 6 years and he's still on the streets :D