First investment for 18 year old with little to invest

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by norrisguy, 28th May, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. norrisguy

norrisguy New Member

Hi there,

I'm an 18 year old just out of high school looking to make his first investment. I've taken a year off study this year to earn a little dough, and will be going to university next year (four year degree in radiography), so I would say there will be little to no saving going on for the four years after this one. I have no experience in investing, except volutarily contributing to my super (gotta love that co-contribution), so I really am in need of a little direction. I had a peek at the Young Investors thread, but I sort of think that IPs and PPORs and all those other ancronyms are a little out of my league...

Anyway, here is what I've got. Any ideas would be appreciated!

• About $6000 in savings, looking to invest around $5000
    • Owe the folks $3000 that I borrowed from them for a $9000 car I bought when I turned 18, haven't paid a cent off it, and they are starting to get a little ****** off they haven't seen any money, so I guess I better get around to paying that off sometime in the next few years...
    • About $6000 in super
    • Saving about $200 a week for the rest of the year
    • No ongoing costs, except fuel (I live on a farm, so this is about $100 a weeks at the moment, and by all accounts, could get a fair bit worse), and going out most weekends (about $100 each week, gotta have a life too)
    • Uhh, that's it I guess...