Join our investing community

First post and a question!!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Mark88, 9th Feb, 2010.

1. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Hello,
    I have been reading this site for quite a while and I finally decided to join! I am a 21 year old in my final year of uni and I have 20K in a 'high' interest bank account.
    I want to take the first step and start investing - I am thinking of putting either 5 or 10K in bluechip shares via commsec (buying share packs) and putting the rest in either a term deposit or balanced CFS managed fund.
    Does anyone know much about commsec share packs? I am a total newbie so I am pretty nervous ..I want to invest so I can buy an investment property in 2-3 years time.
    Any criticisms/suggestions would be appreciated
    Mark

2. Johny_come_lately

Johny_come_lately Well-Known Member

Hi Mark

For a short term of two to three years I would pick the following:

1 an internet bank account
    2 a cash management account
    3 a term deposit
    4 a fixed interest/bond fund
    5 RBA bonds

With these you are unlikely to make a loss, before you purchase your property.

Johny.

3. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Thank you for your input John.
    I feel most comfortable with term deposits since they give guranteed interest. The only down side I can see with a term deposit is that I can not continually add to it.
    I am not in favour of an internet bank account because they seem to pay low interest (my currently netsaver bank account is only paying about 3.5-4%pa).
    What would be the advantage of a fixed interest fund over a term deposit? ..The fixed interest funds I have reasearched tend to pay about 4.5% ..so wouldn't a term deposit be better?
    Also, I don't really know what RBA bonds are and the dividends that they pay

EDIT: