First purchase

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by propertynoob__, 27th Aug, 2011.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. propertynoob__

propertynoob__ New Member

Hi,
    I am new to property and this website. Currently looking for my first home/investment property.
    I went to a whole bunch of open homes today in Blacktown and came across one property that didn't quite make sense to me - 3 bedroom brick veneer house on flushcombe rd (close to great western highway) for $359 K ..this seems a bit cheap to me?
    I am wondering if there is a catch, I am yet to review the contract but will definately pay attention to sewerage diagrams and easements etc.

The address of the property is 390 flushcombe rd blacktown ...can anyone comment on this area of blacktown and whether you think this will make a good investment property?

390 Flushcombe Road, BLACKTOWN, 2148, New South Wales - homesales.com.au

Thanks guys, appreciate any comments

EDIT: I also understand there is a big block of housing commission between flushcombe rd and reservoir rd ...should i avoid flushcombe rd?

Last edited by a moderator: 28th Aug, 2011
  2. propertynoob__

I just obtained the contact of sale for this property and there are a few interesting points:
    1. There is an easement (sewer pipe) that runs approx 1m from the edge of the fence line on the side of the house ...is this a big issue?
    2. The house is currently tenanted to the NSW Land and Housing Corporation ..I take that this means that the house is currently being used for housing commission?
    3. The fixed term of the tenancy does not end until 03/08/12

So I'm not so sure about the above, I'm pretty hesitant to purchase something tenanted for housing commission

3. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

Hi Property