Join our investing community

Foundations of Financial planning help

Discussion in 'Financial Planning Study Group' started by Shan, 23rd Apr, 2010.

1. Shan

Shan New Member

Hi Everyone

I am studying Foundations of financial Planning course with Kaplan (self study) option.

I have done a businees degree in 2001. I have not done any serious studies during the past 9 yrs. I need your advice and guidance.

kaplan has sent me printed materal in a folder.

There are totally 8 modules for this unit. Each module is has 30-45 pages of content. i find there is a lots of content. i have been reading and rereading the material.Still i find hard to remember all the information.

I am thinking of making my own notes. that way i will be able to reduce the content in each module to 15 pages. I tried making mind map but there is too much info so it did not work.

I am liitle worried as i have exams in two months time.

i would appreciate if you would kindly tell me how you went about studying. It will be very helpful for me.

Thank you
    Shan

I

2. plan

plan Active Member

Hi

The exams aren't difficult...the answers are right out of the book...sometimes almost word for word. Its best to know where everything is within the modules.

Most of the learning comes from doing the assignments.

Good luck!

3. micdan

micdan Active Member

Not having studies for over twenty years, I too found the volumn of content in the modules rather daunting. I like you have also opted for the self study option as I do not live in the city. I overcame this by studying a little each night and asking Kaplan questions along the away. They were very swift to answer my questions and were generally fairly helpful.

4. Shan

Shan New Member

thank you for replying. After seeing both your reply i feel better. Did you make your own summary notes for each module? Or did you study straight from kaplan course material ?

Shan

5. micdan

micdan Active Member