From trust fund to trust fund - income tax?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by kaatje, 4th Jul, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. kaatje

kaatje New Member

Hi all,
    Have posted this question on another forum, but hoping to get some other opinions.
    Apologies if it's been done, or I sound like a total newbie..... :)

My partner and I operate a business as follows:
    We are directors of Company A (equal shares)
    Company A is corporate trustee for Trust A
    Trust A trades as a retail business, and is a discretionary trust, with myself and partner as listed beneficiaries (clause also allows related parties/companies/trust to benefit)

Trust A provides our sole source of income as beneficiaries, neither of us have PAYG wages.

We hope to purchase our first property - PPOR - this financial year. As such i've started to do some reading, and can't find anything to contradict what seems to be a HUGE gap in the tax system. I can't really find anyone saying anything similar, in fact, so can't help but feel like i've missed some fundamental element here!

Plan to purchase said PPOR:
    Establish Company B, as corporate trustee for Trust B.
    Trust B is discretionary or family trust, and 'trades' only in purchase of PPOR.
    Trust B becomes a beneficiary of Trust A, receiving enough funds to service home loan (and as much more as possible, within Trust A's earning/profit capacity)
    Remainder (or as required to cover our living costs) of Trust A's profits distributed to ourselves or other beneficiaries.

Profits transferred as a benefit from Trust A to Trust B are used completely to purchase Trust B's asset (PPOR). Trust B therefore does not make a profit for that year, and does not need to distribute to tax paying entities ie, no tax. (?!)