Managed Funds General advice!

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Ems, 7th Jun, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ems

Ems Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I have 2 negatively geared properties and am looking to buy some shares/managed funds to help with cashflow.

I have about $5k to invest and can contribute about $1k a month into the funds.

I'm very new to shares/managed funds and would like to start off small with little risk.

I have read a few posts about Navra and this interests me.

At present what are the average returns for Navra and do you think this is a good place to start?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Navra have returned around 20%pa for the last 3 years, of which about 15% was distributed as income (I expect this year will be about the same ... 15% or so income).

Whether the fund will continue to produce this level of income in a down market is yet to be seen (we haven't experienced such a market since the fund started !!).

I hold Navra in my portfolio for exactly the reasons you mentioned - to help with cashflow (I also see it as a semi-defensive fund too). Currently it is about 24% of my fund portfolio.

3. Ems

Ems Well-Known Member

Thanks Sim!

20% pa is very good. So if I was to start off with $5k then contribute $1k a month I would still receive around $20%pa with 15% as income? (Of course I know this may change)

I'm looking at the retail fund. Is this available with my plans? Lump sum to start off then monthly contributions?

I see there's a 4.4% contribution fee attached to the retail fund. Does this mean everytime I contribute money I pay a fee of 4.4%?

4. Handyandy

Handyandy Well-Known Member

Not if you go through a discount broker. I use investsmart they rebate the 4% and also ones you reach about $100k of funds any further trailing commissions thru their trailing cap product.

Cheers

5. Takestock

Takestock Well-Known Member

Hi Handy.