greetings fellow investors

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by joanmc, 10th May, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. joanmc

joanmc Well-Known Member

wow am I glad I found this site!!

I am a property investor first but since Christmas I have been making my living from trading shares.

I have been looking for something like this as I find it a bit lonely as none of my family or friends invest and I am now nearly desperate for someone to talk to:eek:

I have read a huge number of investing books and am basically self taught with my trading, I don't follow any one's system other than the one I have set myself.

I am looking forward to posting and chatting on the forums :)

2. Chris C

Chris C Well-Known Member

So what books have you read, and which of them have had the biggest impact on your investing life?

3. voigtstr

voigtstr Well-Known Member

What's your system?
    How do you pick the shares to watch? How do you determine when to buy them? How tight a stop loss do you apply? How do you choose when to sell them (if at all)(if not stopped out)?

I'm thinking of trying Darryl Morley's method, once I've got a savings goal out of the way...

4. joanmc

joanmc Well-Known Member

Good morning. the books that really stand out for me are Rich Dad , Poor Dad (robert Kiyosaki), How to be rich and happy (hans Jakobi), Millionaire mindset (Pat Mesiti all time favorite), How to build a multimillion dollar property portfolio ( michael Yardney), all of Anita Bells books. I take in everything and then go with what works for me.

My trading system...hmmm...you will probably all laugh but here goes...

I started by watching a few shares (about 10) that I understood i.e banks miners, companies that I knew. I watched their charts go up and down looking for how much they can move over a day or two. then when I felt they were at a lowish point I would buy in a block of 1000.