Join our investing community

Hello Everyone and Debt recycling

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by jk5954, 29th Sep, 2019.

1. jk5954

jk5954 New Member

Hi Everyone,

Not sure how much information to put in this so apologies for if this is too much.

I have been investing in Vanguard ETF's (VAS) for approximately 5 years.

About 2 years ago my now wife and I got married. I continued to invest in Vanguard ETF's but at a much lower % of income as I needed to pay for the wedding, we went on a trip to Europe for a month and we have been aggressively saving a deposit for a house. After getting married I invested in both my and my wife's name in seperate share accounts.

This is where we currently stand:
    -Both my wife and I work full time. This could change in the next 2 years as we will be trying to start a family.
    -We currently have about $70k in VAS between the 2 of us. This is in seperate accounts and I have slightly more in my name.
    -My main super is a defined benefit fund with the Victorian Government. I salary sacrifice the max I am allowed to this super fund. This does not yet reach the Concessional Contribution limit so I also make voluntary concessional contributions. According to my super fund this defined benefit amount can be treated effectively as cash.
    -My super prior to starting this job and any voluntary concessional contributions I make are in a seperate accumulation fund with another company with lower fees and are all in International shares to diversify away from VAS.
    -We have made concessional contributions of $25k each over the last 2 years as part of the FHSSS.
    -We currently have enough money for a 15% house deposit on an amount I am comfortable we could make the repayments if we go down to 1 income for a number of years. The bank we have pre-approval with offers LVR of 85% with no LMI.
    -We are currently looking at houses and could potentially have a signed contract next week.