Hello & Help? Multifacetted advice needed . . .

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Pagent, 1st Mar, 2012.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Pagent

Pagent New Member

I am a newbie in the investment world. As a multi-media creative my sklills used in this arena would invariably land me in trouble I think. Hence the request for some advice / feedback / help.

The set-up: I am the sole beneficiary of my late father's estate, principally a house with a reverse mortgage on it, which, as Power of Attorney (he was incapacitated at the time) I extended to cover High-Dependancy care fees.

He passed away late last year and in winding-up the estate I am faced with the very real need to dispose of the property to finalise the outstanding mortgage. There is positive equity in the property of around 60% x $900k.

Because of the nature of my business I am probably not going to get a mortgage on it in my own right due to the irregular nature of my income & I have never had a mortgage previously.

What I would like to do is sell the property to my Holding company (which owns all the assets of my business (AV equip, vehicles, trailers, boats etc) which I lent the cash to (as a Directors loan) to purchase said assets.

In selling to the company I would pay out the reverse mortgage & re-mortgage it in the company name & lease the property from the company.

Is this a realistic or possible outcome? If not, are there any other more widely used options that would get me close to what I am aiming to achieve?

It is a "different" series of questions, but after reading many of the threads here I am sure some of the regular contributors would probably be able to throw their 2 bob's worth into the ring.

Thanks in advance for whatever light you guys may be able to shed on my dilemma.

Cheers - A

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Hi

I can see some issues: