Help - Spare Money onto Mortgage or into Shares?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Amber__, 29th Oct, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Amber__

Amber__ Member

Hi All,
    Its my first time posting so sorry if this question has been answered before.

Ok, in the last 3 years i've managed to go from being $20K in (bad) debt, to buying my first home in May with no debt other than the mortgage (although we didn't have a deposit).

My question now is, what should i do with my 'spare' money?? :confused:

My partner and i are already paying over $1000 extra per month to get the home loan down ASAP, but i have around $300/month 'spare' that i don't want to waste.

So, my question is: Is it better to put that $300 onto the HL or into my managed fund (currently only have $1000 in shares)? i really am confused as to the best way to go in this situation.

Any advice would be welcomed as i'm just starting out learning about investing.

Thanks
    Amber

2. hashkent

hashkent New Member

Unless your a really savvy investor I would stay away from direct shares and put the surplus funds into your home loan. Rates are so low at the moment you'd be crazy not to.

When your home loan is paid off early, pay what was the monthly house payment into a good growth managed share fund, which a professional adviser can assist you with.

3. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

That's fantastic - well done on a great achievement.

What a wonderful problem to have :D

Okay - first question ... is there any possibility at all that you might one day decide to move out of this house but keep it as an investment property (ie rent it out) ?