Join our investing community

Hi from brisbane newbie

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Hanso, 25th Oct, 2016.

1. Hanso

Hanso Member

Hey all,

I've lurked for awhile now over on propertychat and have just discovered investchat, so looking forward to absorbing plenty of info.

Bit about myself. 31 i work in the oil and gas industry so currently reasonably well paid but aware of how quickly it can all end. With that in mind I like the thought of building a passive portfolio that doesn't require taking on additional debt.

I have a couple of IP's that are CF neutral and seeing reasonable CG gains i also have a solid buffer in an offset on the PPOR, but now looking at building an ETF portfolio.

I've spent a bit of time reading bogleheads guide to investing and have a basic understanding, but I have been trying to figure out the best way to go about it. The things I'm tossing up at the moment is if I should build it through super(ing/Australian super etc) for tax savings (witgout the liquidity) or start a portfolio using after tax cash and having more flexibility. Then there is the assett allocation and figuring out how to do a deep dive on the details of the different ETF's to create a portfolio that I'm hoping to learn more about here.

Happy to take any nudges in the right direction to find the answers to my queries above.

Cheers
    Hanso

2. trinity168

trinity168 Active Member

Welcome to InvestChat. Am more an ETF/LIC type of person. I'm still on my L-plates with ETFs and LICs but enjoying the learning.

Bran and twisted strategies like this.
  3. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

LOL

you may as well leave the L-plates on for the ETFs even when from the same stable every ETF is subtly ( but importantly different )

at least to the investor ( rather than the trader )

studying them CAREFULLY first ( before buying ) seems to work best for me .