Join our investing community

Hi

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Hosko, 25th Nov, 2016.

1. Hosko

Hosko Well-Known Member

A quick intro. I work full time, but have an interest in the sharemarket.

I play around with ASX Options on a regular basis but this is purely to generate a little bit of cashflow or grocery money. Some weeks it goes better than others and we could have a trip to Bali, other weeks it would mean baked beans for 3 meals a day.

Being a novice I am in awe of the achievements of some people on these internet forums. Great place for learning once you sort through the chaff.

twisted strategies likes this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

Hi Hoosko ,

just be warned , even the best have bad days ( just hopefully less often )

one trick that has served me well , is to take SOME profit , when reasonably in front ( that will vary for each individual ).

another trick is to assess what is luck and what is skill ( there is a difference ).

always make sure you do not overcommit ( events like Brexit and the US elections , show you the unexpected CAN happen ).

good luck .

3. Hosko

Hosko Well-Known Member

Thanks Twisted Strategies,

All I need to get sorted is taking a small loss instead of burying my head in the sand thinking the position will come right then I've got this thing sorted!
    When this happens - Happy days are here.

Just a bit of interest for me at the moment, not risking money we have set aside for food, water or the kids education.

4. twisted strategies

LOL ,

the ( Aussie ) economy needs sorting first , then you will have a fair chance of building a sensible asset base ( be that a home , a portfolio of bonds , or shares , or any other sensible mixture )

the education part will be the most enduring asset ( but be flexible in applying the lessons .)