Home Loan Advice / Gifting Property / Equity loans etc!

Discussion in 'Real Estate' started by honkey, 16th Mar, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. honkey

honkey New Member

Hi everyone, I’m not a property invester but I’m hoping you will allow me to pick your brains anyway.

Am looking into purchasing my first home and would be very apprecitative of some non-bias advice from people in the know. Keep in mind I have very little knowledge of the property market and had no real interest in it (other then wanting to own my own home one day) until now so some of these questions may be a little dumb or obvious, this is why I want to ask the silly questions before I see the loan officer!

Upon visiting my parents a few weeks ago we got talking about the property market and my desire to enter into it at some stage in the next few years. My dad mentioned to me that he would be willing to transfer the deed of his property into my and my partner's name so I could use the equity to build a new house on one on the unused blocks of land on his double block, at which point on completion of the new house I would transfer the new house over to him and keep the existing property in my name. The reason for me having the existing property is that it has a brand new fully self-contained flat across the entire bottom level of the house which is currently rented for $210 a week, this would assist with my mortgage greatly.

Now, if it helps, the property is based in Brisbane, is owned outright and at last valuation was priced around 400k per block (not including existing house on one of the blocks which is really nothing special). I am looking to borrow around 250k to build a new house for them and complete some renos on the existing property for myself.

Now, this is where so many questions lie -