House vs Units?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by FirstBuild, 14th Jan, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. FirstBuild

FirstBuild Well-Known Member

I know there are pros and cons but can anyone say which one is better than the other? :)

2. Tronc

Tronc Member

Hi Zman

I'm only a newbie to this web-site, but I think you might need to provide a bit more info so that the clever people here can give you some points to consider.

Are you buying to invest or to live in?
    What price range are you considering - deposit amount?
    etc.. etc...

Tronc

3. FirstBuild

Im buying to live in so i can get the first home buyers grant. Once i have achieved that i might turn it into a IP and buy another PPOR. I was looking arround the 400-500 mark and can afford about 150k for the deposit.

With stamp duty in NSW i believe that any property under 500k is stamp duty exempt and any above you pay the stamp duty on the amount above 500k. Does that sound correct?

Cheers.

4. Tronc

Tronc Member

5. FirstBuild

Crazy 22.49% stamp duty above the $500k lol

6. Tronc

Tronc Member

yup - just a lazy $18K if you are not a first home buyer on a $500K property. When I bought my house in Canberra, they introduced Stamp Duty Concessions 6 weeks later, which meant that I would have saved nearly $10K in these fees - but you can't control those kind of things.

7. FirstBuild

Ouch that would have hurt the hip pocket:(

8. Tronc

Tronc Member

yeah well it was already factored into my costs, and you can't predict everything. I heard similar stories of people that missed out on the First Home Owners Grant by a couple of weeks when it was first introduced - at least I got that assistance.

I hope you get some good feedback on your original question. I will keep an eye on the replies. Cheers.

9. FirstBuild

Thanks mate :D

10. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

11. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member