How shuld I invest half a million?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Punter, 8th Aug, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Punter

Punter Member

Hi

I am another beginner here and wanted to know how you people (now experts … at least experts to me ..) would invest if you were in my seat.

I was feeling rather hesitant to ask for free advice from you people but Sim wrote me back that I can post such a message on this forum and people are free to share their experience.

I believe that I will get the tips and tricks based on hands on experience from this forum.

I read the LOE article and I decided to try it out.

Today I got a sanction for 350k of LOC on my home. And I went to ANZ for advice on investment. They further told me to gear another 200k (margin loan) and go into ANZ funds.

That adds up to more than half a million which is over and above my current IP loan of 350k.

These numbers are really scary to me but I am slowly gaining the courage to talk and handle these numbers (step one in the LOE article.)

The financial advisor at the bank has come up with few funds for me to invest. The estimated cost will be around 4% in the first year (0.5% for managing services, 2% entry fee and 1.5% ongoing cost) and 2% in every subsequent year. This amount looks high.

I am rather busy with my work and still treat all this financial engineering (my vocab is improving) as a hobby. So I am looking for a reasonably automated solution for investment. I am looking at a moderately agreesive strategy as there is no cash flow problem to me in the near future.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

By the way, I am here in Perth and could not contact Narva people.

Punter

2. moonbeamzz

moonbeamzz Member