I/O loan vs P&I question for a newbie

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by mm, 7th Oct, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mm

mm New Member

Hi all,

Sorry if some of these questions seem silly, i'm still relatively new to property scene. (i know i still have alot more research to do too!)

I still live at home, most likely going to rent soon. I don't have any debt and have about 20k savings and want to start making plans for the future.
    I have found a townhouse up north very close to the beach for sale (low 200's)that i'm interested in. It currently has a 6 month tenant in it. The idea would be to purchase it and after the 6 month lease is up to live in it for 6 months to take advantage of the FHOG and the concessions with stamp duty etc, then rent it out again.

I'm aware that most people buy an IP with the plan to sell it after so many years, but i'm wanting to keep this place for a holiday, retirement kind of thing along way down the track as I really like the area, surrounding suburbs and the proximity to the beach.

Everything thing i have read suggests that an interest only loan is the best for an IP, but due to the fact that i aim to keep it, I think an P&I makes more sense at this stage as it will be debt free in 25 or so years that way. Just wondering if you agree or not???

For what its worth, the rent would not cover the monthly repayments. But even with no rent, i would still be making larger repayments than required for the first few years.

The other option is to look at cheaper unit around Auburn sort of area where it is more likely to set up a loan where the rent meets the repayments. At this stage i like the first option, as I actually want the place to live in at some stage, not just rent it out. I know it comes down to what i want of course, but i was just seeking some opinions

Sorry if that was really long winded

Thanks for your time/thoughts

2. jrc77