Join our investing community

I'm stumped!

Discussion in 'Financial Planning Study Group' started by Jen, 15th Jul, 2008.

1. Jen

Jen Member

I'm studying the Entry Level Competencies through Kaplan and I'm wondering how everyone found the course content. Also, does everyone find the assignment quite breezy?

From comments on various threads, it comes across as though this course can be easily knocked over in two weeks. I am finding it really tough going and am having trouble deciphering what the heck they are talking about at times (eg module 8 -income streams).

I have now read all of the content and as far as the assignment goes, I don't really know what they want. For example, in qu.3 - data analysis - they want 500 words max but the question appears to me to be asking a fair bit of detail. I've got twice that amount and if I cut any back, I don't seem to be answering their question. In fact I'm not sure I've answered it anyway! It all seems so vague.

I am not in the financial industry but have invested in various areas. I have successfullly completed 2 degrees before and have always enjoyed learning. While I don't expect to breeze through it all, I can't see why I am having so much trouble understanding it all. At this stage, I also think their support is dismal.

As it is an entry level course, I can't imagine that they would expect students to be already working in the industry or have any prior knowledge of the subject content.

If anyone can enlighten me on this or direct me as to how to tackle the assignment in particular, I'd appreciate it VERY MUCH !!

Jen

2. Mark Laszczuk

Mark Laszczuk Well-Known Member

Jen,