Improved Residex reports

Discussion in 'Real Estate' started by Jacque, 13th Mar, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

Now that Residex are now producing their cg rates, median prices and rental yields on suburbs rather than postcodes, the information, in my opinion, is much more accurate. If you also subscribe to their quarterly report annually you get the bonus supplement which includes cg rates for the last 5 yrs individually. Very useful for tracing historical growth :)
    Note that I have no vested interest here in recommending Residex. I just use their information as one of my tools when assessing areas for investment purposes.

2. TechMan

TechMan Well-Known Member

Hello Jacque,

I am very new to property investing and am currently looking for my first PPOR in Sydney.

I am currently looking up properties on the web and in local suburb papers. I am yet undecided which suburb i will buy in as im looking at a few areas. But apart from being happy with the property i am trying to pick a good suburb so that i will get good CG's and possibly good rental yields if i move out of it down the track and want to rent it out.

So i am using the following information sources

- looking up suburb data in the domain free suburb snapshot which you pointed out a short while back in a post (this for a general suburb overview).
    - I am also looking at the supplement which came with the SMH recently. It gives me a CG trend percentage on a suburb by suburb basis for the last 15 years worth of data if available and also median pricing.
    - I also am an API magazine subscriber so get stats on the weekly average rents and yields for all suburbs and some more median pricing etc.

If you or others on this forum dont mind listing what kinds of information sources you use to perform your own due diligence? Is it just the residex report?

3. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member