In need of help (inherited house)

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by inneedofhelp, 27th Sep, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. inneedofhelp

inneedofhelp New Member

I'm not sure what forum this is applicable for but I am need of financial advice, along with social advice.

I'm currently 20 yrs old and I inherited a house off my grandfather when I was about 10 yrs old, I believe. I know nothing about banking, real estate or anything, I also suck at english(even tho I'm one year into my commerce degree) so bare with my terminology. Throughout the past 10 yrs my mum has been managing everything to do with my house and rent money. Over the past yrs I have asked for a few things of value which I told my mum she can take out of my account (probably around 2k all up). Anyway when I turned 18, I asked her for the first time how much money I had in my account, considering I had been earning rent for the past 10 yrs I was expecting a lot. Anyway she had the nerve to tell me 2k, showing me a bank statement with my name on it, on further inspection of the bank statement it appears the majority of the rent money earnt would then be transferred to her account. She tried to justify the lack of funds by me often wanting things with the money (which was at very most 2,000 - I bought a few skateboard items/clothes and maybe a few parts for my push bike). Then after I said none of it adds up, she admitted that she had been taking my money in order to pay for my things. We grew up in a booming area, so the problem was we lived in a rich area with a reasonably poor income, so I dont resent her for this. However I think it was poor judgement for my mum not to tell me and poor management on her behalf, she should have said no to certain things if it was such a problem. She also inherited a house and sold it for around $150,000 (I believe she got a lot of money ontop of her house maybe around $50,000) at the time and we