Managed Funds Index Investing Newbie!

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Sam Kilborn, 2nd Sep, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sam Kilborn

Sam Kilborn Active Member

Hi all,

While I am well versed in real estate investing, I am only starting to learn the nuances surround the share market and had a few questions I was hoping to acquire some help with! Apologies for the extremely elementary questions, though I really am starting from the ground up here and would love some support.

At the moment my wife and I have around 20-30,000 to invest (as well as a kid on the way) and (due to aforementioned child) are looking for passive investing strategies, such as Index investing with Vanguard. We are extremely good with our money and are just looking for a platform that we can invest passively and have our money compound for us in the background. We are now 29 and 28 and our desire is to build our wealth to ensure that we can retire comfortably in our 50s. This would be a 20-25 year play. Our aim is to diversify our index investing with investing in real estate.

1.) Is Index investing an effective way to build wealth if we are looking at contributing approximately 1000 per month for the next 20-25 years? How 'passive' is index funding?
    2.) I have been listening to a variety of US based podcasts on share investing (which is somewhat confusing me), though which Vanguard fund(s) would you recommend I start with if my goal was wealth accumulation? Would it be better to simply invest in only the Australian market, or diversify into the US too?

Many thanks in advance!!

2 people like this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

welcome to InvestChat

first see if this appeals ( works for YOU )
    Dividend Reinvestment Plan
    Dividend Reinvestment Plan - DRIP

The Perks Of Dividend Reinvestment Plans
    The Perks Of Dividend Reinvestment Plans