Investin advice - Have money to play with

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Dogslobberer, 12th May, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dogslobberer

Dogslobberer New Member

I have a house worth about 1 million with a mortgage of a little under 500k. I have taken out 100k of the equity on Interest only with the intent of investing it into the share market. I am new to dipping my feet into the market but have been watching closely over the past twelve months as I originally took out the 100k over twelve months ago but baulked (to the good as it turned out). Forget my other assets and liabilities as they are irrelevant to this exercise.

I was looking at a plan of around 5 - 7 years with the principal aim of paying off the mortgage. Obviously I maintain the payments on the mortgage (and then sum).

My questions are.

1. If I use the whole 100k can I, for example pay the interest a year in advance?
    2. Should I be forming a company and buying the shares under the company to minimize tax? Can I incorporate my wife into the company structure to further ease any tax?
    3. Would I be better off investing in a Growth Fund with a Fund Manager and hoping for 8% growth over the period or going it alone and buying shares myself?
    4. If I go it alone and do buy and sell at a profit. Do I pay the taxes as I go at the highest rate and then file a return to claim back any excess?
    5. Are profits in the first year subject to Capital gains?

Obviously I will be consulting a Tax Accountant and have touched base with a Banking Institutes Financial Advisor but I just wanted to throw this out there. I work in the Oil and Gas Industry and feel sure that some Energy, Mining, metals will surge back in the future. Especially those cashed up.