Investing with a low income!

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Mark88, 7th Feb, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Hey,
    I am a first time user - currently in my final year of university and have cash savings (interest rate ~ 4.5%) of about 20K.
    I know for a fact that my future profession isn't very high paying and that I will eventually reach a maximum of about 80K p.a. in 5+ years.
    My question is, does anyone think that it is possible to successfully invest and build wealth with a relatively low income (about 45-50K p.a.). What is the best way to successfully build wealth with a relatively low income?
    Thanks in advance

I am very new to investing but want to make a start. For my first time investment, does this sound reasonable:
    - 10K in a term deposit for 8 months (paying 6.3% with commonwealth bank)
    - 5K in a Colonial First State Geared Australian Shares Fund
    - 5K in a Colonial First State Balanced Fund

Last edited by a moderator: 8th Feb, 2010
  2. nitro-nige

nitro-nige Active Member

If you can spend less than you earn and reinvest your returns back into what you're doing then it should just be a matter of time.
    Of course it sounds easy when you say it like that.

Can you get a loan to increase the amount you have to invest?
    Look into the pros and cons of leverage first of course.

3. Mark88

Mark88 Active Member

Thanks for your reply.

I am seriously considering property investment in the next 2 years. I have been reading quite a lot about property investment lately. I am just not sure if you can be a successful property investor with a relatively low income (<50K pa).

4. Chris C

Chris C Well-Known Member

When it comes to building wealth it's not how much you earn that matters, it's how much you can save that dictated how much you can afford to invest.