Investment Loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by navjit6, 3rd Nov, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. navjit6

navjit6 Active Member

Hi, If I was after an investment loan for shares. What are the options apart from margin lending accounts?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Do you have any real estate you can borrow against? An equity loan against property is usually cheaper than a margin loan and has no risk of margin call. The big risk is that if you lose all the money you've borrowed and you can't afford to meet the repayments on the loan you took out, then you might lose your house.

Alternatively - have a look at warrants. These are an alternative method of gearing into shares. I'm no expert on them, so I can't really go through the pros and cons yet. Some forms of warrants are popular with SMSFs since they provide a mechanism for leverage that doesn't break the strict SMSF borrowing rules.

Another alternative is to look at a managed fund which has internal gearing. These funds borrow money within the fund to invest in shares - they do all the risk management and loan payments within the fund itself, so you don't have to do anything other than buy or sell units.

3. navjit6

navjit6 Active Member

i got no assets, literally apart from $5k cash, and a regular income of$1300 after tax per fortnight, and also have no expenses, so all the income will be going towards investing some way or rather, still deciding/learning.

With a margin loan, can you continue to increase the loan (if you continue to put say for example your salary in). Also how do you get out of a margin loan.
    For example if I had $5k capital, borrowed another $5k. if i paid that of in fortnightly payments of 1.3k, it would take like 2 months to pay off?? i don't really understand how they work. if you could tell me or give me a good link to read, i would appreciate it. Thanks

4. Simon Hampel