Investment Property expenses

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by MACQ01, 6th Jun, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. MACQ01

MACQ01 Member

I am new to invetsments in property markets, would like to know from experts what is the percentage of govt. and other costs to the purchase price of property in different states. Are any of these expenses are tax deductible or only the ongoing expenses are tax deductible. What factors are generally considered for valuing the property.

2. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

Hi Aviraj and welcome to the forum :)

Property has many costs attached, the main ones including:

Property stamp duty
    Loan stamp duty
    Conveyancing/solicitors costs
    Building/Pest and other pre-purchase inspections
    Other purchasing costs
    (could include BA fees, independent valuation, data costs etc)

For specifics on differing stamp duties this table is pretty easy to use:

How much stamp duty will I pay? - Home Loan Calculators - eChoice.com.au

Don't forget, however, that there are concessions for first home buyers, should you qualify, in terms of grants and stamp duty concessions. Check these out at your state's Office of State Revenue site. For NSW read here:

First Home Owners

Tax deductible costs vary but have a read of this article to glean further information. Capital costs are not immediately deductible but do reduce your capital gain when you sell, so records need to be kept. An accountant will be able to provide you with more specific information here as well.

http://yahoo.domain.com.au/Public/Article.aspx?id=1153166420674&index=qa

What factors are considered when valuing a property? Are you referring to valuers methods here?

If so, I can tell you that valuers use a mixture of methods to arrive at a valuation for property. These include:

Comparable sales