Property & Infrastructure Funds Investors nervous but property (LPTs) stays calm

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Nodrog, 15th Jun, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Nodrog

Nodrog Well-Known Member

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Here's a chart of the XPJ (ASX200 Property Trusts index) from July 2002 ... the current lows are lower than the highs in mid-2003.

The index had nearly doubled in 5 years, and has since given away nearly all of those gains.

The big question is - WHEN will the local property market start to recover and does it have futher to fall yet?

Is it worth sitting on the sidelines another year or two for everything to sort itself out - or is now a good time to be buying back in?

Attached Files:

• xpj.png
      xpj.png
      File size:
      78.4 KB
      Views:
  3. Nodrog

Nodrog Well-Known Member

Hi Sim,

I was a technical trader years ago. Based on the current weekly chart, back in my trading days I wouldn't even consider entering the market. If it manages to break through the 2002 - 2003 lows again on strength then god knows how much further the downtrend could continue.

However nowadays I'm a long term, income oriented investor and given that I purchased SLF in the SMSF and won't be accessing it for a number of years I'm was willing to take the trade. However if it was outside of Super and I wanted to get the best bang for buck in the shorter term I would wait until a turnaround was clearly established. At this stage it is still very, very much in a downtrend at least according to how I see the charts.

Just my opinion of course and probably the wrong one:rolleyes:

Cheers - Gordon

Attached Files:

• SLF.png
      SLF.png
      File size:
      11.4 KB
      Views:
  4. Simon Hampel

I think your approach has merit Gordon.